Holy Orders

The sacrament of Holy Orders

CCC  1536     Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.

Holy Orders ~ Religious Vocation

Those who receive the sacrament of Holy Orders — as a deacon, priest or bishop — are consecrated in Christ’s name “to feed the Church by the word and grace of God.”

Becoming a priest or a man or woman religious is not primarily our own decision…. Rather it is the response to a call and to a call of love.

The Archdiocese of Atlanta web site has information for those interested in the priesthood, diaconate, or religious life. The links below will take you to this information.

· Priesthood – for those men considering the priesthood.
· Diaconate Formation – for those men considering permanent diaconate formation.
· Religious Orders – for both men and women.

The effects of the Sacrament of Holy Orders

CCC  1581     This sacrament configures the recipient to Christ by a special grace of the Holy Spirit, so that he may serve as Christ’s instrument for his Church.  By ordination one is enabled to act as a representative of Christ, Head of the Church, in his triple office of priest, prophet, and king.